WAFA Member Countries

The World Association of Floral Artists (WAFA) was founded in 1981 by a group of flower arranging societies representing 19 countries. Today membership has grown to 31 countries. These are:

BarbadosJapanSouth Africa
BermudaKoreaTrinidad and Tobago
BrazilMaltaUnited Kingdom
FranceNew ZealandUnited States
Hong KongNetherlandsZimbabwe

WAFA aims to reinforce the bonds of friendship between the various members and provide a forum whereby members can exchange ideas and trends in flower arranging. The care and conservation of natural resources and the environment are also important considerations.

The association is voluntary and not- for-profit and is governed by a properly drafted constitution which is reviewed on an ongoing basis. WAFA is hosted on a three yearly term by an elected member country. During its tenure, the host country is responsible for organising and hosting an International Seminar and a World Flower Show. A General Assembly is also convened during the World Flower Show to conduct the business of the association.

Previous host countries include United Kingdom (twice), Belgium, France, Canada, New Zealand, South Africa, Japan, Pakistan and the United States of America and have attracted audiences in the thousands. Ireland was the host country for 2011-2014 and Barbados will be hosts for 2014-2017.